Book + Movie Review: Everything Everything

Hey worms,

**Yo, there’s going to be a couple spoilers up in here, so if you’re not down, I would bounce.

So as I mentioned in my last post, I’ve had some time to Image result for inspirational gifread! Crazy, wow, how does she do it, inspirational af. I know, calm down. I lowkey have a shelf of books I have yet to read, and so the only logical thing to do was to buy a new book and read that one instead. Responsible.

I’ll be honest, I bought this book because I saw the movie trailer and am someone who thinks (thought) that if a book is turned into a movie then the book must be good– you know, because why would they bother making a movie if the book sucked ass? (a question I’m still asking myself)

If you couldn’t tell from my snarky comments, I am not a huge fan of this book. Image result for picture book gifI read this book in two sittings- because I’ll admit it was hard to put down, but not because it was necessarily good. I think I read it so fast because I’m notorious for ditching a book midway and I wanted to finish this damn book- mostly so I could move on to better ones. Also, this book was easy. Maybe too easy. This book would be that dude at the bar that would be happy with any hole- bagel, hole in the wall, garbage disposal- you get the point. Honestly, I felt a little bit like garbage reading this book. What I mean by easy is that most of the book consisted of doodles, or pages with a couple sentences on it. Now I love me a good break, with consistent chapter lengths to give me time to think about the story and where it’s headed, but this whole book was a one big break.

Not to mention, the whole story was extremely unrealistic. While, yes, her disease exists, there would be no way the plot would thicken as it does in the book. I don’t even mind that it is a rare disease, that’s totally fine, it’s just none of the story would happen like it does in the book. At the beginning, she explains how her daily routine is the same everyday- which is what I would expect from someone with this disease (which incase you don’t know, it is where her immune system is extremely weak from lacking lysosomes). But then her life changes. This boy-next-door cliché dude moves in with his family and she instantly falls in love- kill me. I’m very skeptical of ‘love at first sight’, so this just did not cut it for me. Also, how convenient for their bedrooms to be facing each other and they had windows facing one another, totally realistic, what are you talking Image result for you belong with me gifabout? Eventually, they do the Taylor Swift ‘You Belong With Me’ thing, where they write notes and read them from their windows. Then this is where I completely lose it. She asks her stay-at-home nurse if he can visit her (even though she lives in a bubble that, if contaminated, would fucking kill her), and the nurse fucking agrees. SHE AGREES?!

So yah, he comes in, contaminates everything, but it’s fine because it’s fiction and nothing matters. K, sure.

Another thing I didn’t like about the book was how much of a Image result for Stereotype gifteenage-girl-cliché the main character was. There was a point in the book where I didn’t think she cared about anyone besides herself, she just wanted to check things off her teenage girl bucket list. She was so focused on kissing the dude next-door, rather than getting to know him. Like fuck you, Madeleine, you’re no different from any other blah, pubescent bish.


**I’m going to get into the movie now, and I straight up roast the hell out of it- fair warning.

This all being said, there were a couple parts of the book Image result for fuck it gifthat I thought made it unique and interesting- to which the movie said: fuck it. I actually watched the movie on my birthday, hoping it would be a good time. It was anything but a good time. The movie was straight up nothing like the book. All the book’s selling features were cut out, and the movie was pretty much the most bland outline they could’ve come up with. Not to mention they added scenes that weren’t in the book, and got rid of some characters. It’s chill, it’s not like anyone will notice?? They also combined scenes, which overall made the whole movie confusing. Image result for bored gifThere was little explanation, and the fucking actors, man. Did they give zero fucks? Both of the main characters were boring af and read out their lines like they were called on by their English teacher to read a passage out of the textbook. The only thing that made the girl actress and the guy actor different was that the girl would laugh a lot/ too much, because she thought that meant she was acting. Girl, that’s not acting, that’s annoying. Also, in the book, the author made a point about having the guy’s hair short, and in the movie he has long af hair. It’s not even that they were unaware of it, because there were multiple jokes on how he needed a haircut- like yah, he needed a haircut because the dude in the book is nearly bald!

All in all, I don’t know what they were thinking when making the movie. I think whatImage result for last straw gif topped it off was that in the credits they added the doodles of plots from the book that were never included in the movie– almost like a ‘fuck you’ to the readers. Like hey, now you can’t say we didn’t include everything from the book because now we’re adding book pictures that make no fucking sense in the movie(:


AKA- I totally recommend reading the book and watching the movie- if you hate yourself. Have you read the book or watched the movie? Let me know what you thought about them in the comments!

-Alli

16 thoughts on “Book + Movie Review: Everything Everything

  1. I haven’t read this book or seen the movie, and when I saw the trailer I thought it may be a bit bland. I’m not planning on seeing it or reading the book (especially after reading this post!) but I did enjoy your commentary 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Just letting you know, I didn’t actually read your post as I plan to eventually read Everything Everything and you mentioned possible spoilers. But I like you, so I have liked your post anyway as I’m sure it was amazing 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve read Everything Everything as well! And I kinda liked it…
    It was good, but it screams ‘stereotypical teenage romance book!!’
    I’m planning to watch the movie with friends when it comes out (it comes out around August in the UK for some odd reason!) and I got a feeling after readying what you thought of it I’m gonna hate it😂 I can cope with mushy teen romance in books, but I can’t cope when I’m actually watching it😂
    Great post once again!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yah I could definitely see why people liked the book, it just wasn’t my cup of tea (haha as if that wasn’t obvious from my review lol), also yah good luck with that movie bb haha tell me what you think of it afterwards! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This is one of the best reviews I’ve read! 😂😂 I could hear your anger. I read it but I was in the “I want to read something super sad and girly” mood aka my period so everything did seem better than it actually was. But after I went into deep thought about this book, I realised that loads of things didn’t click.

    Like

Leave a Reply

