Don’t Talk Cars to Me (10.28.17)

Hey worms,Image result for single ladies gif

So as a single lady (Beyoncé who) I’ve been talking to guys I normally wouldn’t because bish why not? Flirting is a lot of fun (until you catch feels, because then fuck), especially after a long relationship. I thought I lost ‘it’ (whatever ‘it’ was), and maybe I’m a little rusty, but hey- guys don’t give one. If there’s anything I’ve learned over the past month, it’s that guys really don’t give a fuck. What I mean by this is that you could have literally nothing in common (COMPLETE OPPOSITES), but if the guy thinks you’re physically attractive then they’ll continue to pursue you. Of course this is a massive generalization, so pls don’t take a massive shit on me, thanks.

That all being said, I’m not a super flirty person or anything, but it seems like every time I start talking to a dude and the flirting starts, and we start talking about our interests and shit, they always mention something about cars. At first, it didn’t bug me too much because I figured “he’s a car guy, that’s cool, just not to me…at all”, and that was that. Personally, I find cars to be these constant money suckers that could break down at any moment and wreck your life in an instance- so clearly I’m not the biggest fan. Usually I say that anything is interesting as long as someone passionate about that thing is talking about it- yah, not for cars. I just don’t see the appeal of unique rims, or custom paint jobs, or spoilers- I’m honestly not even sure if they’re called spoilers because now all I can think about are spoilers for movies, and movies are much more interesting than fucking cars.

Anyways, so the first flirty guy was a car guy, that’s cool but bye. Honestly, he was the complete opposite of me so I have no idea what he was thinking- opposites attract, more like opposites have nothing to talk about and are boring af. The next flirty guy actually didn’t have a shot to begin with, but it was nice to talk to him- emphasis on ‘was’ because he eventually mentioned how he was going to a car show that weekend, proceeding to talk about cars until I gave one word answers and looked as disinterested as I could without the guy getting offended. But hey, that’s fine, so these two random guys happened to be into cars, what are the odds.

Yet, ever since that first guy, nearly every single guy I’ve talked to has brought up their interest in cars, and I hate to admit that it’s becoming a deal breaker. I can be having a fun conversation with someone and once they mention anything specific about cars, I genuinely start dismissing them entirely- it’s kind of fucked to be honest.

It’s not even like these car guys are related in any way- which I think is what really gets to me- like I met them all in very different situations. Where are the ‘not car guys’ at?


This post is kind of random, but it’s been on my mind lately so I thought I’d just put it out there. I’ve grown to despise custom cars, but it’s chill. I’m fine. It’s fine.

Image result for nice custom car
me too

-Alli

 

**No offense to car people! I bet you’re just dandy.

6 thoughts on “Don’t Talk Cars to Me (10.28.17)

  1. Oh my goodness I can relate to this SO much. As long as I think my car looks nice and it can get me from A to B, I don’t care about anything else. I love my car and I love driving it, but I don’t love being patronised by guys and droned on and on to about how I should modify it or that it’s not powerful enough etc. I literally couldn’t care less. I dated this one guy who was obsessed with cars, and I mean obsessed. There was nothing he didn’t know about them and it was the only thing he ever talked about, I literally couldn’t even go out in public with him because he was like an excited child, we’d be in the middle of talking about something and he’d just cut me off to exclaim about a car that had just gone by or someone that was driving in front of us. I don’t know what the hell I was thinking, I just thought it was something he was obviously passionate about and therefore I was going to be supportive, but sometimes enough is enough. It was way too much. Completely agree with this post! xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

